Spring Garden Update

The first day of summer is nearly here (also known as Midsummer, Summer Solstice, or St. John’s Day, alternatively), so I thought it would be a good time to do a garden check-in. Planting a spring garden (aka planting cool-tolerant crops that will be ready before the main summer veggies) wasn’t in the cards for me this year, but those that did should be reaping the reward of lettuces, carrots, radishes, cabbages & more.

A little background – my garden is an allotment in a community garden. It’s my first year at this community garden, so my garden plot was randomly picked, sight unseen, and I had no idea what condition or set-up I would be inheriting. This was the first time I got to check it out, back in February:

IMG_1232

February 2017 – ‘Yikes’ moment

I did have a ‘Yikes’ moment, but it didn’t turn out to be so bad…

Once the snow melted and Spring (gradually) starting appearing, I found a surprise – a strawberry patch! I was going to rip it all out because it I thought I wouldn’t have enough space to plant everything I wanted, but I was glad I didn’t as you will see in a bit..

IMG_1309

April 18, 2017 – Surprise strawberry patch

As I was planting mostly summer crops, I had to wait until the chance of frost of was completely past to put them in the ground, which is around May 15th in this area. I started a lot of my plants from seed at home though, to get a head-start (and fill the never-ending winter gardening void).

Planting day!

Of course immediately after planting my precious seedlings, there was a crazy spring heatwave. This wouldn’t be a big deal once the plants are established (the soil under the top few inches will stay moist even if the surface looks parched), but with such shallow roots, I had to obsessively water the first few days. I also added some landscape fabric in the walkways, to keep weeds down and make it more comfortable to work.

IMG_1365

May 20, 2017: Added landscape fabric pathways

The reason I needed everything set up in such a short space of time was that I was going out of town for 2 weeks! Luckily it rained most of the time I was away, so my plant-sitters weren’t too burdened.

By the time I got back it was June, and I’m sure you know what June is the season for….

IMG_1580

June 7th, 2017: Glad I didn’t rip out all the strawberry plants!

From the same day – all looked good except for cucumber beetles destroying my cucumber seedlings 😦 (Fortunately I’m growing a container variety in my patio garden that is doing great (Oh yeah I also have a massive patio garden at home because I’m a crazy plant lady)).

I’ve been taking a picture update once a week, so this the latest and brings us right up till the end of spring/start of summer. Glad Midsommar!

IMG_1595

June 14th, 2017. Gotten pints & pints of strawberries, a bit of swiss chard, some blooming flowers & green tomatoes on the vine…

 

Leave a Reply

